How to remove location data from photos on Android and Windows

The camera app on your phone captures more details each time you tap a photo. These details range from your phone’s model number to the GPS coordinates of where the photo was taken. Usually, this information is called metadata. However, if you are looking to share that photo on a social media platform or with a third-party photo editing app, you may want to remove any location details from the photos.

In this post, we will guide you through the steps involved in removing location data from photos on both Android and Windows. So, without further ado, let’s get started.

Remove location data from a photo on Android

You can easily view and remove the location data associated with your photos from the Gallery app on your Android phone. Here’s how you can do that.

1. Google Photos App

If you own a Google Pixel phone or another Android model, you probably have Google Photos as the default gallery app. In this case, you can follow the steps below to remove location data from photos or videos on your phone.

Step 1: Open Google Photos on your Android phone. Navigate to the photo you want to remove location data from.

Step 2: Tap the three-dot menu icon in the upper right corner to view the location data associated with the image.

Step 3: Tap the pencil next to the location coordinates and select Remove Location.

Location data associated with the photo or video will be removed. Unfortunately, there is no option to remove location data for a batch of photos at once. Therefore, you will have to repeat the steps for each photo or video.

It’s important to note that Google Photos can add an approximate location to your photos even when geolocation is disabled in the Camera app. It does this with the help of Google Location History and the features detected in your photo. Fortunately, the app also gives you the option to completely remove that data.

2. Gallery app

If you’re using a Samsung Galaxy phone, you can also view and remove location data from a photo using the Gallery app. Here’s how you can do that.

Step 1: Launch the Gallery app on your Android device and open the photo from which you want to remove location data.

Step 2: Tap on the three-dotted menu icon in the lower right corner and select Details from the menu.

Step 3: You will find the metadata for the image. Tap on the Edit option in the upper right corner to make changes.

The fourth step: Tap the red minus icon next to Location Data to remove it, then tap Save.

You will have to repeat this process for each photo or video. Unfortunately, there is no way to remove location data from multiple photos at once.

Remove location data from an image on Windows

If you are sharing photos or videos from your Windows PC, removing location data is just as easy as removing location data on Android. To do this, you will need to access the properties of your photo or video. Here’s how to do it.

Step 1: Select the image from which you want to remove location data. Right-click on it and select Properties from the resulting menu.

Step 2: Switch to the Details tab. Click “Remove properties and personal information” at the bottom of the window.

Step 3: In the Remove Properties window, select the “Remove the following properties from this file” option.

The fourth step: Scroll down to the GPS section. Check the box for Longitude and Latitude options. Then press OK.

That’s about it. The location data will disappear from that image. Similarly, you can also remove any other personal information associated with the photo such as date, time, camera details, and more.

Bonus: How to stop Android from adding location data to photos

While Android allows you to easily remove location data, stripping location data from every photo or video you take can be a waste of time. Alternatively, you can prevent Your phone camera app From adding location data to photos and videos. Here’s how.

Step 1: Open the camera app on your phone and tap the gear icon in the upper left corner to open its settings.

Step 2: Scroll down to the General section and turn off bookmarks.

Alternatively, if you cannot locate this setting, you can also revoke the location permission for the Camera app by following the steps below.

Step 1: Press and hold the camera app icon and tap the info icon from the resulting menu. Then go to Permissions.

Step 2: Go to the site and select Do not allow.

Share carefully

Associate location data with images and videos can be useful if you’re looking to map your images to a Google Images map view. However, you’ll want to be careful while sharing those photos or videos online, or at least remove the location data before doing so.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.